thischicksoutloudlife

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

My favorite mistake

In  2002, I made my favorite mistake, and 10 years later given the chance, I would make it all over again.

My best friend brought it up while we were traveling last week and the memories still make me smile and wonder what if….

My company was getting a whole new accounting software system put into place and the project team came from all over to help.  I had a good friend on the team who invited me to lunch with them one day.  I befriended a few members of the team and one day one of them brought a new member over to meet me and if there is such a thing as love at first sight, this was it.

Tony was beautiful.  He had a great smile, a killer body, and I would learn an amazing personality to match.  He was originally from Portugal, but now lived in Canada and was interning with that division of my company.  There was going to be a happy hour the next evening and he offered to drive me if I wanted.  From that night on we were inseparable.  From the 1st night we hung out I knew it was a bad idea, he was only here for 6 months at best, he wasn’t even a US citizen so it’s not like he could come back down the road, and we were in our early 20’s not thinking long term.

We had a full relationship in the 6 months he was here, we started dating, decided it wasn’t a good idea because of his temporary status and broke up, got back together the next day, went on a couple of vacations, he asked me to move into his apartment while he was there ( I mostly did), we celebrated my birthday, he met my friends and then all to soon the 6 months was up and it was time for him to go back to Canada. When it was time to say goodbye, I smiled and said it stoically and as soon as he was gone, I bawled my eyes out.

For the first month after he was gone we emailed and then his internship with my company ended and we never spoke again.  Since the immersion of Facebook and other social websites, I have looked for him now and then, but have never had any luck.  I told my best friend that if anyone ever made me feel half of what he did, I would have to marry him.

Knowing that 10 years later I would think of him still and remember him fondly and smile at the memories, it makes me know that I would do it all over again.   Someone once said don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened and that it exactly what I do when I think of Tony, my favorite mistake.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment